December 2016
Rebecca Hankins, Associate Professor and archivist/librarian, has been appointed by President Barack Obama to the National Historical Publications and Records Commission from December 26, 2016-December 26, 2019. More information on the appointment linked below:
October 2016
Dr. Mian Riaz received $5 million endowment funds for teaching and to create Food diversity program at Texas A&M. For further information click this link.
Associate Professor Rebecca Hankins is awarded Wendler Endowed Professorship and Elected as a Society of American Archivists' Fellow. The Wendler Professorship is based on the generous gift of Dr. Clifford Wendler. In 2000, Dr. C. Clifford Wendler established a charitable remainder unitrust with the Cushing Memorial Library & Archives as one of the beneficiaries. Prof. Hankins has been appointed the Wendler professorship for a period of four years at which point there will be opportunity for a renewal of four years. The SAA inducted Rebecca Hankins as a Fellow of the Society of American Archivists. "Established in 1957, the distinction of Fellow is the highest honor bestowed on individuals by SAA and is awarded for outstanding contributions to the archival profession." SAA writes that Rebecca, associate professor and archivist/curator/librarian of Africana Studies at Texas A&M University, has "dedicated her scholarly and archival career to the preservation and documentation of America's marginalized citizens whose legacies are underrepresented in the holdings of archives and special collections."
March 2014
Congratulations are in order for Dr. M. Suhail Zubairy, who has been elevated to the status of University Distinguished Professor. The 2014 university distinguished professor honorees join a select group of more than 70 current faculty members that hold the prestigious title. This designation denotes a faculty member who is pre-eminent in his or her field, has made at least one seminal contribution to the discipline, and whose work is central in any narrative of the field and is widely recognized to have changed the direction of scholarship in the field. "University Distinguished Professors represent the highest level of achievement for our faculty," said Dr. Karan L. Watson, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs. "They are recognized as pre-eminent authorities in their fields and their accomplishments are exemplified by outstanding teaching, mentoring, discovery and service. They demonstrate to the world the high quality of scholarship underway at Texas A&M University." Texas A&M Interim President Mark Hussey and the Texas A&M Foundation will host a reception on April 30 recognizing the six new university distinguished professors and honoring all of the University Distinguished Professors. More information, including a complete list of University Distinguished Professors, is available online at
April 2013
Dr. Ibrahim Karaman, Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Texas A&M University, has received the 2013 Distinguished Achievement Award for Research.
Dr. Mukhtar Saqib, Professor in the Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering at Texas A&M University, has received the 2013 Distinguished Achievement Award for Extension, Outreach, Continuing Education, and Professional Development.
The university-level awards were first presented in 1955 and have since been awarded to 954 professionals (including this year’s recipients) who have exhibited the highest standards of excellence at Texas A&M. For more information, visit the Office of the Dean of Faculties: 2013 Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients Announced.
February 2011
Dr. Mahmoud El-Halwagi, professor in the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering at Texas A&M University, has been appointed national chair for the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) Computing and Systems Technology (CAST) Division. Read More
January 2011
Dr. Rashid K. Abu Al-Rub, an assistant professor in the Zachry Department of Civil Engineering, has been named the recipient of the College of Engineering Tenneco Meritorious Teaching Award at Texas A&M University. Also, he has received the Truman R. Jones Excellence in Graduate Teaching Award at Texas A&M University.
December 2010
Dr. Anwar Ahmad, Professor of Accounting at the Meyes Buisness School, has won the Ricky W. Griffin Award for Research Excellence.
November 2009
Dr. Mahmoud El-Halwagi has been named recipient of the 2009 Research Excellence in Sustainable Engineering Award. The prestigious award is presented by the Sustainable Engineering Forum (SEF) of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) and recognizes basic or applied research results relative to the sustainability of products, processes or the environment. It is annually bestowed upon a researcher who has made significant technical contributions to the advancement of sustainable engineering in research, teaching and development activities. Read More.
March 2009
Dr. Mahmoud El-Halwagi and Dr. Rashid K. Abu Al-Rub receive the first-ever Texas A&M University System Student Led Award for Teaching Excellence (SLATE). For more information visit Texas A&M Engineering NEWS.
© Copyright 2009 Muslim Faculty Network. All rights reserved.